Remember the old Kit Kat commercial jingle…give me a break, give me a break…break me off a piece of that Kit Kat Bar. When watching on television, an actor would break the 4-piece bar. The jingle easily got stuck in one’s head while using a phrase people were used to hearing…give me a break!

We all need a break, especially after this last year. Students and educators at all levels have been stressed and tested. The challenges have been difficult. The teaching and learning have been different. It has been a school year where adjustments and adaptability were norms. The struggles have increased with each week. As I talked with students I knew they were losing steam to finish the semester. So with the semester ending next week, here is some encouragement.

May you take time to rest and renew over the summer. No matter the job, internship, transition, summer class, or vacation, you find yourself in, take some time to find rest for your mind and heart. Take a break…enjoy the outdoors, read a book, go on a hike, sit pool side or find your ‘beach’/’mountain’ escape. Meditate on God’s Word. The important aspect to remember is to spend time resting. We can experience rest by renewing our minds by centering our lives on Christ.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”—Matthew 11:28-29

So may we seek Christ and find rest in Him. Take a break and rest. Wednesday Words will be taking a break also and it is unknown whether the blog will resume. We thank you for engaging with BCM and continued prayers for you. We pray next semester will be a return to some resemblance of normal. Either way, we will continue to trust God and seek Christ.

“The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul.”–Psalm 23:1-3

Leave a comment